top of page

Top 5 New Fish & Chip Shops Announced

361[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]National Fish and Chip Awards announce Top 5 for Best Newcomer 2023

The National Federation of Fish Friers (NFFF) has announced the top five finalists, for its Best Newcomer category, at the National Fish and Chip Awards 2023.

The top five, based across Staffordshire, Yorkshire, Devon and Suffolk, all started business no earlier than January 2021 and were chosen following rigorous judging by an anonymous panel of industry experts.

The fish and chip shops shortlisted are:

  1. Haughton Fish & Chips, Haughton

  2. Lighthouse Fisheries of Flamborough, Flamborough

  3. Corner Chippy, Paignton

  4. Locker’s Fish & Chips, Marske by the Sea

  5. Hendo’s Fish & Chips, Bury St Edmunds

The top five, will soon be whittled down to a top three, following mystery shop visits and extensive Zoom interviews.

The winner will be announced at The National Fish & Chip Awards, hosted by The National Federation of Fish Friers (NFFF), on the 28th of February 2023 at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge.

The Best Newcomer of the Year category is sponsored by Sarson’s, the UK malt vinegar brand owned by Mizkan.

Commenting on the news, Andrew Crook, President at the NFFF, said “We were inundated with strong applications for the Best Newcomer category, so it was a difficult job getting down to the top five. However, the judging panel were blown away by these top five, making them extremely deserving of his recognition. The next round of judging will be a difficult job, but everyone already shortlisted should be extremely proud of themselves.”

For further information on the National Fish and Chip Awards 2023, please visit:

The National Fish and Chip Awards is the largest UK-wide event dedicated to raising standards across the industry whilst supporting fish and chip related businesses. For more than 30 years, the awards have celebrated the nation’s favourite dish, while championing the eclectic eateries that hold up this loved British tradition. The National Federation of Fish Friers will host the inaugural awards in February 2023.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″ el_class=”sticky-container”][mnky_ads id=”124789″][/vc_column][/vc_row]

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page