top of page

The National Fish & Chip Awards Kick Start 30th Anniversary Year…

[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]

The 2018 National Fish & Chip Awards have kicked off their 30th anniversary year and are now officially open for entry, marking the start of a nine-month quest  to find the UK’s best fish and chip businesses.

Celebrating 30 years of success, the awards – aptly known as the ‘Oscars’ of the fish and chips world – have continuously grown in scale and stature  since their formation in 1988, and are now recognised as one of the most prominent and respected seafood industry events in the UK.

With a bumper milestone year ahead, encompassing a simplified and more streamlined online entry process, awards organiser Seafish is urging fish and chip businesses throughout the country to get their entries in now.

Marcus Coleman, Chief Executive at Seafish, said: “Since the competition began all those years ago, the fish and chip industry has changed dramatically. Yes, we still have our traditional ‘chippies’ but fish and chips can now also be enjoyed through many other types of outlet with bars, restaurants, supermarket cafes and mobile vans offering high quality, delicious, fish and chips. The overall fish and chip sector has seen a substantial rise in innovation as businesses venture beyond the norm to diversify their food offerings and improve how they communicate with existing and new customers.

“The range of award categories open for entry has grown in direct response to these innovations, with a category available for every fish and chip business, big or small, with a passion for frying and providing fantastic customer service.

“With an incredible celebratory year ahead of us, there hasn’t been a better time to enter the awards and help us reinforce the UK’s reputation as the home of the world’s best fish and chips.”

The flagship Independent Takeaway Fish and Chip Shop of the Year Award is one of the highest industry honours to receive as a fish and chip business and previous winners have gone on to great success, reporting sales increases of up to 100%.

Reigning champions Nikki Mutton and Craig Maw of Kingfisher Fish & Chips in Plympton, Plymouth, Devon added: “We were absolutely elated when we won the 2017 National Fish & Chip Awards – it was an amazing experience to go all the way and claim the top title, especially after coming in second place the year before.

“From the moment our names were called out from that podium at the London awards ceremony we haven’t stopped – we’ve had a dramatic increase in business and the word of our success is still spreading! On average our sales increased 40% and due to demand we’ve now hired over 10 new members of staff. We’d encourage all fish and chip businesses that are passionate about what they do to enter – speaking from experience it is truly worth it!”

The National Fish & Chip Awards celebrate the great British tradition of fish and chips, showcasing the best talent, quality and choice offered by fish and chip businesses through 14 different award categories:

  1. Independent Takeaway Fish and Chip Shop of the Year Award

Open to all independent fish and chip businesses with a takeaway facility.

  1. Independent Fish and Chip Restaurant of the Year Award

Open to all independent fish and chip restaurants.

  1. Best Mobile Fish and Chip Operator Award

Open to mobile fish and chip businesses.

  1. Best Multiple Fish and Chip Operator Award

Open to fish and chip operators with three or more outlets (including franchises).

  1. Best Foodservice Operator Award

Open to all general foodservice operators that serve fish and chips, eg., pubs, cafes, department stores, hotels, travel and leisure.

  1. Best Newcomer Award

Open to fish and chip operators who are new to the industry.

  1. Staff Training and Development Award

Open to all fish and chip businesses and rewarding excellence in staff training and

development practices and policies.

  1. From Field to Frier Award

Open to all fish and chip businesses and rewarding knowledge of potato sourcing and chip preparation processes.

  1. Drywite Young Fish Frier of the Year Award

Open to all applicants who are aged 25 years or younger.

  1. Marketing Innovation Award

Open to all fish and chip businesses and rewarding excellence in marketing and

promotional activity.

  1. Good Catch – The Sustainable Seafood Award

Open to all fish and chip businesses, this award rewards knowledge and the promotion of responsible seafood sourcing and sustainability practices.

  1. NFFF Quality Award Champion Award

Open to all current holders of the National Federation of Fish Friers Quality Award.

  1. Healthy Eating ‘Fish and Chips’ Award

Open to all fish and chip businesses that are excelling in educating and informing their customers on healthy choices and the nutritional values of fish and chips.

  1. The ‘Fish & Chip Friday’ – The School Meal Education Award

Open to entry from independent school catering operators and local council catering departments, and rewarding the serving of healthy fish and chips to school pupils.

For further information on The National Fish & Chip Awards, information on how to enter or deadline dates please visit or follow @FishnChipAwards.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″ el_class=”sticky-container “][mnky_ads id=”2782”][/vc_column][/vc_row]

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page